Back in the Saddle! Reverse Seared Pork Tenderloin Medallions

28 Mar

I haven’t been posting much lately – that’s because I’ve not been cooking as much as I like to. We had a nice Spring Break trip to the beach – where  my BBQ Brother Steve C and I did a  steak, fish and shrimp cook for about 20 people. The whole thing ended up rather Iron Chef/Stadium Kitchen/Restaurant Impossible-like with the two of us cooking steaks and fish fillets on large charcoal grills in the dark with our Thermapens lit by the light of our “assistants'” cell phones. The results were tasty, however, and the left-overs were few indeed.

Back home, I had a strong “hankerin” for plain, old hamburgers and whipped up a batch for the Performer and at the farm last weekend, The Professor and I, assisted by the Professor II, reverse seared some wonderful rib-eyes from Mr. P’s using two separate grills, one of which I know is over 30 years old and still in great shape (that’s another post for sure).

Still, between Spring Break and a trip to Louisville for a title insurance conference (and bourbon), there hasn’t been much time to grill.

Tonight was my first night home with an opportunity to grill in quite a while and since I’ve been fortunate enough to eat some good steaks the past couple nights,  I opted to mix things up a little bit and cook a pork tenderloin.

I usually cook pork tenderloins by searing them off for about eight minutes, turning the roast every couple of minutes to get some crust going all the way around the tenderloin, then finishing them off indirect, all about 350-400 degrees.

Tonight, however, bolstered by the success of my reverse sear steak cook last weekend, I decided to modify my method a bit. After seasoning the tenderloin with mojo dry rub, salt and pepper, and tying the roast off into about 8 sections using butcher’s twine, I set up a two level fire and put the tenderloin on the cool side of the grill with the temperature at about 325 degrees. I let the roast cook whole, indirect, for about 20 minutes, which brought the internal temperature to about 120 degrees. Then, I took the roast off to rest and let the Performer come back up to about 425 degrees. Once the roast had rested and the grill was up to temperature, I sliced the tenderloin into steaks (or medallions, if you prefer) between the twine ties. Then, I seared the tenderloin steaks over direct heat for about 2 minutes a side. This brought the internal temperature up to about 140 degrees which, with the rest between the steaks coming off the grill and serving, gave the steaks time to come up to my desired finish temperature of 145 degrees.

The results were tender and tasty. The steaks had just a bit of pink in the middle (as they should have) and the mojo rub gave the the tenderloin a citrus-y, Caribbean flavor that paired nicely with some Billy’s spicy and sweet mustard sauce. The leftovers should work wonderfully in some Cuban sandwiches planned for lunch tomorrow.

Feels good to be back in the saddle and on the grill again.

2 Responses to “Back in the Saddle! Reverse Seared Pork Tenderloin Medallions”

  1. Andy from Savannah March 29, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Very nice! I saw the “reverse sear” technique on an Alton Brown episode and have wanted to try it.

    • bbqesq1 March 29, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

      Works REALLY well for nice thick steaks – 1.5″ and up. Gives a very even degree of doneness throughout the steak – no “band of brown” along the edges with the right degree only in the middle. Also takes longer to cook the steaks, giving the cook more time to appreciate the beverage he is holding in his hand!

Leave a Reply

