“Traeger-ized” Pork Loin Chop

8 Mar

A while back, I got a good deal on a package of thick cut pork loin chops at Sam’s. Each chop was between 9 and 11 ounces. I wrapped them well in freezer paper, labeled them and tossed them in the meat freezer.

Tonight was a casual dinner – just the two of us – and I decided this was a good time to cook one of the nice loin chops. I thawed the chop and then brined it in a brine of salt and brown sugar for about an hour, then dried it off well and coated it in Weber’s “Kickin Chickin” rub. I know – chicken rub….but this is one of my favorite seasonings and I had a feeling it would work well on the loin chop. I was right.

I’m cooking three brisket flats overnight for an office lunch I’m doing tomorrow for Melissa’s last day at her old job so I had the Traeger already set up and ready to go, so I decided to cook the pork chop on the Traeger.

I set the Traeger’s thermostat on 375 and gave the grill a chance to get up to temperature then put the loin chop on the Traeger. It took about 30 minutes for the thick chop to come up to 140. There weren’t any real grill marks since there wasn’t any searing to speak of. There was, however, a nice crust from the rub. I did finish the chop off by putting it on a cast iron skillet that had been resting in the Traeger the whole time.

The chop was taken off the heat at 140 degrees internal and rested for about 5 minutes before eating.

Verdict: Excellent! The lack of searing was offset by the tasty and spicy crust from the rub. The meat was done evenly all the way through – just the slightest hit of pink. the chop was moist from the brining and uncharacteristically tender (I cut off slices with my steak knife and then cut the slices with a fork).

I used some Billy’s Bar and Grill spicy honey mustard as a dipping sauce and the sweet heat complimented the meat and the spicy rub perfectly.

I’m glad this copy was 9+ ounces! I definitely will do this method, and this combination of prep and seasoning again!

2 Responses to ““Traeger-ized” Pork Loin Chop”

  1. Phellepa March 8, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    man, I need to be your tester!!!

  2. Bill deShazo March 9, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    keep it rolling Pat…where is Missy’s new job?

Leave a Reply

